Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Chanukah gelt for teachers?
1  2  Next

amother
Lime

Post Sun, Dec 06 2015, 11:58 am
As a former teacher myself, I say this custom has to go.

The going rate in my kids' schools is $10 per teacher, and they have an average of 2 teachers, so $20 per child.

Let's say you teach 20 kids and everyone gives you their $10 (if you're lucky). But you have 5 of your own children so you have to give $20 for each of them, $100 total. So half of your Chanukah gelt is already spent giving Chanukah gelt to your own kids' teachers.

In communities that are not wealthy, where people are already paying astronomic sums to tuition, I don't see the purpose of this custom. There's gotta be a better way to show appreciation to teachers. And yes I know that teachers need to get paid and could use a bonus for chanukah. But what kind of bonus is it if they need to spend it on their own kids' teachers.

amother
Saddlebrown

Post Sun, Dec 06 2015, 12:32 pm
this is going to sound very selfish but I agree it has to go also. I am paying a fortune in tuition already to pay the teacher. I work full time and do not get a chanukah/cristmas bonus.

2cents

Post Sun, Dec 06 2015, 2:32 pm
Totally agree (as a teacher who is married to a rebbe). Just posted about this in the other open thread on the same topic).

MagentaYenta

Post Sun, Dec 06 2015, 2:39 pm
amother wrote:
this is going to sound very selfish but I agree it has to go also. I am paying a fortune in tuition already to pay the teacher. I work full time and do not get a chanukah/cristmas bonus.

When our local school first started up one of the policies put in place was no tipping. The teachers are all certified and paid wages and receive benefits that are comparable to those in public schools.

pause

Post Sun, Dec 06 2015, 3:14 pm
amother wrote: