Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
My daughter's post: I had a miserable childhood

amother
Floralwhite

Post Tue, Apr 19 2016, 5:34 am
I can see my daughter posting this five years from now. It's been a scene I've been picturing for over ten years. Constantly trying to fix. I've gone for therapy, gone with my husband for therapy, have sent my (not so willing) daughter for therapy. Still the same patterns come up time and time again.
She's amazing! Fun, talented musically and artistically and is very giving. She is also super lazy, very messy and not so reliable.
She's been off from school for a while now and every day calls and texts me at work multiple times to give her jobs (that's the sweet and sincere part of her). She'll tell me that she needs a looooong list because she's bored and really wants to help. I'll send her one job (wipe down the cabinets). She'll then call and or text "that's all?!?! Give me more jobs!" I'll tell her sweetly (even though I'm in the middle of a meeting) "You're amazing! Thanks for all your help! Start with that and when your finished let me know!" (score 1 point for me for staying calm!) I come home hours later and get to work. She'll join me at some point asking for a job. I'll ask what she got up to. She'll tell me she did one cabinet but will finish the rest soon. But what else can she do. When I (calmly) tell her that when she's finished the cabinets we'll move on, she usually gets insulted "why do you talk to me like I'm a two year old? You treat me like I'm a baby?" Then go off in a huff!
She's upset with me now because I won't let her take over the cooking for you tov. (It's bad enough when she cooks regularly. I don't need water under my covered counters and piles of dirty bowls in the sinks now. )