Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Would this be a silly thing to start a gofundme for?
1  2  Next

seeker

Post Tue, Sep 06 2016, 12:41 pm
I work as an independent contractor, not for a company that provides any professional development. I think my work would really benefit from some good PD that might even enable me to expand my practice and be able to afford things like that, but right now my family's needs have been drowning out anything else.

With all the real needy causes out there, is this a ridiculous thing to even think about fundraising for this?

Right now I'm hankering after an intense course in social skills groups which I think is a real need in our community at large but it's $2300 which I need to reserve for frivolous things like rent and tuition. Sigh.

yenta2

Post Tue, Sep 06 2016, 12:52 pm
If you send it to people that know you and you clearly write why you need the money for I don't see what the issue is.

seeker

Post Tue, Sep 06 2016, 1:33 pm
I can't think of many people I know who would be both able and interested in contributing when there are so many people who are sick or disabled or things like that.

mha3484

Post Tue, Sep 06 2016, 1:41 pm
From the mother of a child who gets a lot of help with social skills its 1000% a needed service in the community. I think you can recoup your investment easily.

I am having a similar issue in my own professional development and I told DH that I want to use a small portion of the tax return that I put in savings to take a certification class next winter. I figure the more options I have for parnassah the better off we are in the long run.

Rutabaga

Post Tue, Sep 06 2016, 1:51 pm
Can you find an institution in your community to sponsor you in return for your services once you take the course?

MamaBear

Post Tue, Sep 06 2016, 1:53 pm
Rutabaga wrote: