Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Vacation and Traveling
I'm going to write about my mommy camp on a budget
1  2  3  4  Next

amother
Emerald

Post Wed, Aug 01 2018, 5:48 pm
Okay,

So I'll put a little information in the paragraph below, just so that you get to know me a little before I begin. Although I'm in a European country, I'll do my best to reference American terms where possible (I know how much the world revolves around the US moms on here). This forum will be anonymous in case I write anything I will later come to regret.

So let's begin. I'm a working mom to two babies. A 1.5 year old and a very nearly 4 year old. I work full time as does my husband and since I work in the education sector, I'm able to take the full 6 weeks off work to coincide with my kid's summer vacation. ('Hah. 6 weeks,' I hear you say. 'You ought to try 10!')

Of course since we're on a tight budget we can't afford to send our kids to camps, and since my husband is working through the summer, vacationing is out too. But I also choose to keep my kids home. There is something magical for me to be able to spend all day, every day alone with my brood. It tests me in every way possible and I get to know and love my babies more than ever before (crazy, I know). It has it's challenges don't get me wrong, I've been there before, but sending them out to camps when they're out all year round bothers me too much. And it bothers my wallet too. So here we are.

Oh, did I mention I'm in the 3rd trimester of my most difficult pregnancy yet?

Here it comes:

Day 1 'the calm before the storm.'