Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> New York related Inquiries
Should I switch to special ed (p3/seit)
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Jun 11 2020, 11:18 pm
I work as bookkeeper and earn a salary of 50k for working 28 hours a week 12 months a yr.

I have a bachelors in business and have been toying with the idea of getting a special ed masters and doing p3/seit.

If you are a p3 or seit, how many hours do you bill for each week, how many total hours of your week is devoted to working Including travel from school to school breaks between kids etc. how much do you make per yr and does that include summer?

Do you spend a lot of time at home preparing speaking to parents etc.

amother
Blonde

Post Thu, Jun 11 2020, 11:42 pm
SEIT is not the dream job people think it is. You may find it unstimulating, boring, and frustrating. It can take a half a year until you fill up your hours that you'd like to work. Your students will very likely not continue from year to year so each September you are looking for work again. You only get paid for the hours you work, instead of a set salary, so no getting paid for yomim tovim, vacations, snow days, sick days, days your client is absent, and summer. Many children are not approved for summer services. Those that are, only get for 6 weeks so the rest of the summer you can't get paid. You may not get your full hours until January, or even later!
Paperwork can be a pain. Preparation can be very minimal.

SETSS pays less but can earn well per hour if you work in small groups. However, many schools partnered with agencies to send them their students so the providers are forced to take a big cut.

Edited to correct a typo.

amother
Olive

Post Thu, Jun 11 2020, 11:45 pm
amother [ Blonde ] wrote: