Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Teenagers and Older children
Help me figure out my moody teenager
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Oct 07 2020, 10:17 pm
Can someone help me out since I’m new at this teenage thing. Let me start by saying that we have a very stable home bh. My kids see a decent shalom bayis. They are not lacking financially or emotionally. We try to give each child the right amount of attention and discipline. Nothing overly stressful going on currently.
DD is a young teen and if a psychiatrist would peek into my home she would definitely be diagnosed with either depression, anxiety, bipolar, or all three.
She’s always nervous and moody. Yells and bickers with her siblings. Borders on being chutzpadig to her parents. Is grumpy every time she is asked to do an age appropriate chore. Is generally in a lousy mood.
Contrast this with a peek into her classroom or in camp.
DD is a teacher's delight. Smart, mature, sweet, intelligent. Has a ton of friends. Is the star of the show. Jolly and always ready for fun and action. Creative and generous. Always smiling.
Why the contrast? Again, in our eyes she is a cherished oldest. Doesn’t lack attention, space or anything she needs. How is one girl so different at home and between friends? What am I doing wrong? Any advice appreciated! TIA

ra_mom

Post Wed, Oct 07 2020, 10:21 pm
The first thing that comes to mind is that she feels safe with you - and allows her feelings and moods to come out around you. That is a good thing! She feels safety in your home. So don't feel guilty about the difference in how she is at home.

The second thing that comes to mind is that she is struggling. While I don't know why, I do know that kids want to be good, they want to please. And if they're giving you a hard time, that means they are having a hard time and don't know how to express it.

amother
Hotpink