Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Coronavirus Health Questions
Stores in Brooklyn accepting PEBT card

amother
OP

Post Thu, Mar 11 2021, 5:17 pm
Just managed to activate our P-EBT benefits that we got in the summer in lieu of school lunches for March, April, May and June. The money is on my husband's Medicaid card. I would like to use it towards Pesach grocery shopping:

1. Which supermarkets in Brooklyn (Moishes? Bingo? etc) accept it please?

2. Do I have to use the entire amount at one time?

3. If I use the card to pay at the register, and some of the items are not covered by this benefit, how does it work? (would I have to pay for those items separately?)

4. I have never used such a card before (we don't have snap benefits. We only qualified due to the pandemic), and I am a little concerned that I may meet someone I know while standing on line, and they will see that I am using this card. I know that it is not something to be ashamed of, but I do not feel so comfortable. This is linked to the previous question: would the cashier announce "This item is not covered by your card etc."
I would appreciate your guidance please, so that I am going in prepared, and would not have feel humiliated at the store. Thanks!

thunderstorm

Post Thu, Mar 11 2021, 5:24 pm
As far as I know , it works like a food stamps card. At the register it will cover whatever is food stamps worthy (food items). All other items will show up with a remaining balance.
You don’t need to use the full card at once. You should have a link or phone # with PIN# to call to hear the balances on each card.
If it’s used up, it will only cover the amount left on the card and the rest will show up as a remaining balance which you need to pay separately.
In the summertime , I used it at Bingo in Monsey and there were no issues, at all.

I would assume all groceries take it.

amother
Aquamarine

Post Thu, Mar 11 2021, 5:26 pm