Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Infants
Newborn bath solution
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jun 23 2021, 12:00 pm
I need help figuring out how to bathe a newborn!

I have a master bathroom with a shower and a sink that wouldn’t fit a baby tub, no counter space for a tub either.

And another bathroom down the hallway, with a small sink as well, and a bathtub.

Is there a solution other than tub-in-tub and me on the floor, it’s somewhat hard for me, plus lifting a wet baby out of tub and getting up from your knees often feels unsteady.

How do they bathe babies in hospitals, is there some kind of tub on a stand solution or smth?
Id prefer something in my bathroom so as not to walk down the hallway with the baby.

emzod42

Post Wed, Jun 23 2021, 12:01 pm
I did the kitchen sink at that age. Will the tub fit over your kitchen sink? You could buy a freestanding baby tub on a stand, but then you have to deal with filling and draining.

Blessing1

Post Wed, Jun 23 2021, 12:09 pm
I give my babies a bed/sponge bath for the first couple of weeks & then I bathe them in the regular bathtub.

BrisketBoss

Post Wed, Jun 23 2021, 12:22 pm
I do a shower. I hold the baby with a sacrificial towel (so that he isn't slippery) and then I shower myself as well. The baby loves being held against me, and sometimes surprises me by latching when I accidentally get the position right haha.

avrahamama

Post Wed, Jun 23 2021, 12:24 pm
How small is the bathroom sink? Then have small inflatable pillows you can put in a small sink.

amother
Jade

Post Wed, Jun 23 2021, 12:26 pm
I would do a baby bath on the shower floor. Have a dry towel on the bathroom floor. When babys clean transfer to the dry towel. Stand up. Pick up wrapped cuddly baby.

You could also put 2 plastic chairs in your shower stall- one for you to sit on and one for baby bath to sit on.

Teomima