Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Fashion and Beauty
Do makeup artists on Instagram use filters?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jun 07 2022, 2:52 pm
Or are the photos true to life..?

amother
NeonPurple

Post Tue, Jun 07 2022, 2:56 pm
Almost all of them use face smoothing filters. A small minority of them even add "makeup" with apps that allow them to add false lashes, lip color, blush, etc. An even smaller minority don't use any filters at all, and those are so refreshing.

It's crazy.

amother
Chicory

Post Tue, Jun 07 2022, 2:57 pm
Many use heavy duty editing like photoshop. Pretty much none is real. I’m a photographer and make up never looks that way straight out of camera.

amother
Hyssop

Post Tue, Jun 07 2022, 3:00 pm
At my wedding, we used a makeup artist that had tens of thousands of followers and gorgeous faces on her page. She did an awful job, I hate looking at my wedding pictures. I’ve never looked so bad before or after - I would have done a better job on my own. Her excuse was that there was bad lighting in the hall. I don’t think that’s a valid excuse - lots of halls don’t have the best lighting and she should have been able to deal with it, or told us she’d do a horrible job in this lighting and made us do the makeup outside instead or something.

Go based off word of mouth, trust me. Instagram is fake.

amother
Wheat

Post Tue, Jun 07 2022, 3:10 pm
I used a make-up artist off Instagram. She did such an awful job. But on her Instagram page, I looked stunning. I called her up after the wedding that she fooled me and I won't recommend her to anyone and she should remove my picture from her account because that's not how I looked. She removed my picture and blocked me from following her! I was so disgusted. Unbelievable how dishonest people can be.

mushkamothers

Post Tue, Jun 07 2022, 3:24 pm