Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Spinoff: Start saving now
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Fri, Jul 28 2023, 4:45 am
mig100 wrote:
It's great to save. If u can't afford daily expenses then may be worth reconsidering..

I wanted to highlight this attitude that came up on the other thread a few times.

It is poor financial planning to say I need pizza and an Amazon budget, in addition to other things people might be buying like brand-name everything and subscriptions to who knows what, and then say you don't have what to put away for later. What are you calling daily expenses?

I work in the financial industry, and it pains me to see frum people who rack up debt and then need to shift from gemach to gemach and end up with nothing for the future.

We all need to live according to what we can afford, and that includes putting some money away for emergencies and retirement.

If you spend now for things that are not really essential, what will you live on later?

amother
Hotpink

Post Fri, Jul 28 2023, 4:47 am
True
Would be good if our governments followed this common sense logic
Debt debt debt ….crazy and a poor example and poor message

amother
Turquoise

Post Fri, Jul 28 2023, 4:52 am
amother OP wrote:
I wanted to highlight this attitude that came up on the other thread a few times.

It is poor financial planning to say I need pizza and an Amazon budget, in addition to other things people might be buying like brand-name everything and subscriptions to who knows what, and then say you don't have what to put away for later. What are you calling daily expenses?

I work in the financial industry, and it pains me to see frum people who rack up debt and then need to shift from gemach to gemach and end up with nothing for the future.

We all need to live according to what we can afford, and that includes putting some money away for emergencies and retirement.