Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays -> Chanukah
I don't like Chanukah

amother
OP

Post Sat, Dec 09 2023, 2:19 pm
I don't like chanukah or purim or any holiday that's supposed to be fun for your children. It's supposed to be happy and cosy with family games and chanukah party's. I'm so bad at being that fun mum I don't know how to make it fun for my kids besides for putting some music on and giving gifts. That's all no games no fun the kids just go off and do their own thing. We don't have any family where I live so no party's to go to and no one to invite. Purim is the same story. If we do attempt to play a game it always ends with the kids fighting. I'm not good at cooking nice dishes either or coming up with delicious things I'm just plain and boring and I feel so guilty my kids don't get that fun experience because I'm no fun. DH will dance a bit and sing with them but he doesn't play games etc
Anyone relate? I'm feeling really depressed about it

amother
Holly

Post Sat, Dec 09 2023, 2:25 pm
That still sounds like a lot of fun!

I thought this thread would be a diff tone.

ray family

Post Sat, Dec 09 2023, 2:52 pm
I’m also pretty basic,
But I try to do what’s in my capacity
A take the kids for a walk after candle lighting to look at the menorahs in the neighborhood.

If you’re not up to making doughnuts you can buy plain ones and let the kids decorate with ganache (takes 2 min to make out a drop on milk or heavy cream on top of choc chips or broken pieces of milk. Heat, mix and let melt. Or you can do it the more complicated way on top of a double boiler) and sprinkles.

Print Chanukah coloring pages.

Buy some arts and crafts stuff

Put music on in the background

Classic dreidel

You don’t have to be having a blast. Just try to have some stuff to keep the kids busy and create some positive memories.