Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
What makes an incredible principal or dean of school?

amother
OP

Post Thu, Dec 14 2023, 12:49 am
Curious to hear what the important attributes/qualities would be.

Please include if you're
A parent of kids in school
A teacher or former teacher
A school administrator or former school administrator
None of the above (but was a kid and went to school! Smile

amother
Chartreuse

Post Thu, Dec 14 2023, 12:54 am
I’m a parent of kids in school and a former teacher.
As a parent I like a principal who sees the whole picture, the whole child. Not black and white rules, but “teaching kids, not subjects”. Someone I feel I could trust and partner with, not feel afraid to approach with issues.
As a teacher, I like a principal who has my back and is willing to mentor and invest in me. I give my all and then some, and if the principal is invested too it’s amazing and the impact is felt by the kids. If not, teacher struggle can lead to burnout quickly.

effess

Post Thu, Dec 14 2023, 1:18 am
As a parent, I like that my childrens’ principal really knows them and will do anything to help them grow. She sees each child as an “olam malei “ and really works to reach everyone’s potentials.
I also see the teachers have great respect for her so she probably treats them the same.

amother
OP

Post Thu, Dec 14 2023, 10:04 am
Thank you for those insightful responses

Bumping for more

amother
Blush

Post Thu, Dec 14 2023, 10:13 am
As a former student