Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Are you a SAHM whose youngest is already in school?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Dec 28 2023, 8:55 am
I was a SAHM since I had my third child. BH I had a couple more since then. This year my youngest went to school already and although there’s always something to do in the house I feel a little empty. Like I SHOULD be working because I have no excuse (to myself, I don’t feel the need to excuse myself to others) that I’m taking care of a baby all day.
Financially, we are managing with DHs income but no extras or luxuries. We live a very simple/lower class life and we are fine with it.
I imagine that if I’d take a PT job I’d earn pennies since I have no degree or experience in anything current. Makes it feel not worth it. Because even though I have a couple hours every day that the kids are out there are still always unexpected appointments, kids sick, kids school vacation, other commitments that if I’d be tied up in a job would make it quite stressful to find childcare for when I do belong home. So it would really have to be worth it for me to commit to a job and for $25 an hour (starting rate?) I can’t see it be worth it.
I’m just wondering what other mothers in my shoes do. Are there WAHM options for 2-3 hours a day that actually pays well? Any other ideas? (Not looking for volunteer work.)

amother
Acacia

Post Thu, Dec 28 2023, 8:59 am
Exact same thoughts running through my head. Exactly what you wrote. Every single detail!

amother
Tan

Post Thu, Dec 28 2023, 9:02 am
My youngest is in preschool and I'm loving the quiet few hours of the day. The day is short & there's so much to do. I would lose my sanity if I needed to go to work as well, that's why I gave up my job. I couldn't handle it.

amother
OP

Post Thu, Dec 28 2023, 9:02 am
amother Acacia wrote: