Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Lakewood, Toms River & Jackson related Inquiries
Working in a daycare vs my own playgroup
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Jan 07 2024, 5:15 pm
I'm new to Lakewood and am thinking of working in a daycare or having my own playgroup next year. Dd will be considered older 2s next yrs and I'd like to be on her schedule (and on a school schedule in general as I have some older kids as well). Although I never ran a playgroup, I have a Masters degree in early childhood. I worked in early intervention for a long time so have experience with children and have been around to a lot of playgroups (so see how they run things.... )

If I'd open my own playgroup it would have to be an older 2s group (bec of dd), if I worked in a daycare I would want dd to come, but am flexible with the age group that I'll work with (I don't necessarily need to be together with dd). I have room in my house for a playgroup so don't need to rent.

I was wondering what some of the pros and cons of each choice would be that I'm not thinking of.

Also a big deciding would be how much I could make (the area is right by Westgate) and which choice is harder/more draining.

amother
Crystal

Post Sun, Jan 07 2024, 5:24 pm
Many daycares have a fuller schedule than the typical playgroup.
Meaning daycares tend to not have off for Chanuka, midwinter vacation. They tend to work up to erev Yom Tov (or the day before) and start again immediately after Yom Tov.
They give much less off in the "school to camp" and the "camp to school" time
But ultimately if you need to take off a day, technical it's your boss's responsibility to find the sub. You're a paid employee.

Your own playgroup, there are days off. Most playgroups go by the girls schools calendars.
But beyond those days, it's very difficult to find a sub.

amother
Aubergine

Post Sun, Jan 07 2024, 5:28 pm