Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Our Challenging Children (gifted, ADHD, sensitive, defiant)
Medication during school hours

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 7:09 am
For those of you who medicate, if the child needs a booster during the school day, who gives it? He is 7 and too young to do it himself. I feel like going to the school nurse is too much but is that the norm? I give him his regular dose before he leaves to school. This is hypothetical, we haven't started it yet.

amother
Hunter

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 7:33 am
My 12 year son goes to the nurse to get it and has been for a few years.

amother
DarkKhaki

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 7:39 am
We went with a longer acting medication. I feel like kids have enough confidence issues so when we saw it wasn’t long enough, we switched medication.

teachkids

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 8:20 am
I work in a school. The nurse has a whole list of kids who are sent to her at lunch time for their second dose of meds. Mostly ADHD but also a diabetic who needs insulin and some kids who stop by for lactaid on milchig days.

amother
Caramel

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 8:28 am
amother OP wrote:
For those of you who medicate, if the child needs a booster during the school day, who gives it? He is 7 and too young to do it himself. I feel like going to the school nurse is too much but is that the norm? I give him his regular dose before he leaves to school. This is hypothetical, we haven't started it yet.

When my son was taking a booster, the office or the nurse gave it to him. He would go every day to get it.

amother
Tangerine

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 9:10 am
It's super common, that’s a large part of what the nurse is there for. Most kids taking meds in school go during lunch, nobody notices.

amother
Molasses

Post Wed, Jan 17 2024, 9:15 am
amother DarkKhaki wrote: