Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Israel related Inquiries & Aliyah Questions
Where would we fit in E"Y?
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Mon, Feb 12 2024, 8:41 pm
I'm just beginning to research aliyah, but from what little I see, finding the right "fit" of community + schools is key for children's adjustment. I am clueless about Israeli communities and religious designations. Can you help me out?

We're JPF BTs. I wear a sheitel + stockings, DH wears a black hat on Shabbos.
We both have advanced degrees from secular universities.
We have smartphones, internet at home but are careful about what we consume and the children don't use screen media.
We're not into cartoon characters/pop culture stuff for the kids but they are allowed (encouraged!) to read as much as possible of Jewish and secular books.

I don't want my kids (boys or girls) to be in the military but I DO want them to contribute and do some kind of national service (is that even a possibility for boys?)
Kollel as a lifestyle choice is not something we're raising them to aspire to (no judgment, just not our derech... though who can control their kids' futures?)
I'm fine with having to "homeschool" English/secular subjects, but I don't want them in a school that will close them off from attending university/professional careers OR disparage that path.
We want a strong Torah education that is also intellectual and open-minded.

I don't want to end up in a re-created NY in town community. We want less materialism and keeping up with the Joneses.

Is there a community for us? City/neighborhood/school recs very appreciated!

amother
Snow

Post Mon, Feb 12 2024, 10:37 pm
I would think RBS at least to start would be a good option in terms of a soft landing with multiple options for schooling and just about everything else.

gottago

Post Mon, Feb 12 2024, 10:43 pm