Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
Help me get into nursing school

amother
OP

Post Tue, Feb 27 2024, 8:30 pm
I know there are programs funded by the government.
I don’t have any credits and no GED.
I’m not good at math, my English is not perfect.
Not sure I’ll pass a GED test.

Do I stand a chance?
Do I need to pay thousands for a BA before getting into one of the funded nursing programs?

Where do I begin?

Princess23

Post Tue, Feb 27 2024, 8:34 pm
amother OP wrote:
I know there are programs funded by the government.
I don’t have any credits and no GED.
I’m not good at math, my English is not perfect.
Not sure I’ll pass a GED test.

Do I stand a chance?
Do I need to pay thousands for a BA before getting into one of the funded nursing programs?

Where do I begin?

You can pm me.

chestnut

Post Tue, Feb 27 2024, 8:54 pm
In NYC, the only free programs (if you're income eligible) would be in a CUNY (city) or SUNY (state) college, like Hunter College (Bachelor's), Kingsborough college (associate's), maybe SUNY Downstate.
Nursing schools are competitive and not easy to get into. City or state nursing schools are even harder to get into because they're free.
You have to take many prerequisites first, before the nursing school.
Another way is to get any Bachelor's and then go to a program that leads to BSN.

chestnut

Post Tue, Feb 27 2024, 9:07 pm
https://www.cuny.edu/wp-conten.....2.pdf

Just One

Post Tue, Feb 27 2024, 9:30 pm
Kol hakavod for thinking big. Nursing is a great career with so many diverse job opportunities! Don't be daunted by the process. I've seen many a mediocre or ESL student get into and through nursing school successfully. Nursing is not a field for geniuses. It's for motivated, caring people.