Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Question for freelancers (what to do with this client)

amother
OP

Post Wed, May 22 2024, 10:55 am
I've been working as a freelance writer for almost 20 years now. When I started out, it was because I had just lost my job and was desperate, so I took whatever I could get. There were ebbs and flows of work back then, some of the clients I really enjoyed working for, and some of the work I really liked, but some clients were challenging and some work wasn't really the type of writing I enjoy. I did almost anything anyway because we needed the money and I needed the experience.

There was one client who was so nice to me. He got me a lot of business, which was especially appreciated during my drier spells. He had a network of people that he worked with, and when he heard that one of them was looking for a freelancer, he'd point them my way. My work for him was regular but didn't earn much -- I'd write one short article for him, once a month -- but he would get me clients that would need hours and hours of work, sometimes for several months. I honestly didn't enjoy the work I was doing for him at all, and the pay wasn't wonderful, but other than asking for a raise once, I didn't want to rock the boat.