Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Toddlers
Does kitchen timer techinique really work?

tzatza

Post Tue, Aug 18 2009, 9:57 pm
I am thinking of buying a kitchen timer for some "behavioral modifications" as in setting time limits. Do you think it is a good technique for a 2.5 y.o?

pecan

Post Tue, Aug 18 2009, 10:34 pm
I think it depends on the maturity of your two year old. And what are the specific instances that you want to use the timer for? You need to make sure that the behavior you expect is age appropriate and have a proper plan as to what will happen if the timer goes off and the behavior has not been performed. What is pushing you to do this?

ShakleeMom

Post Tue, Aug 18 2009, 10:57 pm
It's an amazing tool.

google: time out timer

http://images.google.com/image.....ab=wi

Stepmum

Post Wed, Aug 19 2009, 12:49 pm
Can you buy a sand-timer instead? As a preschool teacher, I found this more effective - the child could see how much sand was left in the timer. Watching the timer could also be a distraction and get the child out of the negative place.

I had jumbo timers, which I loved - I also used it for turn-taking, and taught the children to do it themselves. If you can't find the big ones, you can find a timer in many games.

Good Luck!

NotInNJMommy

Post Wed, Aug 19 2009, 12:52 pm
yup. worthwhile.

I used it to enforce dinner time, so that the kids weren't distracted and it dragged on forever...OR, so the kids didn't leave too soon and not enough and graze over and over before bed....again, for toddlers.

Also, for timeout it's helpful, especially for me to remember to keep the right amount of time (2 min for 2yo, and 4 min for 4yo)

tzatza

Post Wed, Aug 19 2009, 1:22 pm
Stepmum wrote: