Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Work at Home Mothers
WAHM - what do you do??
1  2  Next

amother

Post Tue, Nov 17 2009, 3:31 pm
People are welcome to use "amother" - I am just looking for ideas and options. I am currently working as an actuary, so working from home is not really an option (on a regular basis. I am able to work from home when a kid is sick etc once in a while). I have a computer science degree but didn't work in that field for one day.

What do you do? I would like to hear how people earn enough to support a family (my husband is in kollel) while working from home.

Thanks!!!

chocolate moose

Post Tue, Nov 17 2009, 3:39 pm
I worked as a secretary by day and did extra typing at night - mostly transcribing from tapes.

Tova

Post Tue, Nov 17 2009, 3:40 pm
Why can't you work as an actuary at home? Do you mean because one doesn't really provide those services from a home-based business? Can you work for a large firm but do part of the day from home? That's what I do...I am a CPA.

amother

Post Tue, Nov 17 2009, 4:00 pm
Tova wrote:
Why can't you work as an actuary at home? Do you mean because one doesn't really provide those services from a home-based business? Can you work for a large firm but do part of the day from home? That's what I do...I am a CPA.