Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Kugels and Side Dishes
Need kugel substitute
1  2  Next

chocolate moose

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 11:38 am
We are not big kugel fans.

I am not that good with orzo or pasta salads, any ideas for what I can serve with the chicken Friday night and put on the blech (plata) by day?

Thanks.

LikeMeDoes

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 12:00 pm
I rarely make kugal but either stick baby potatoes under the chicken before I roast it or make rice etc.
I don't serve this on Shabbos day, so I can't answer that part.

rivki

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 12:02 pm
burekas
asian noodle chicken salad (cold)

chen

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 1:25 pm
potato salad. NBN (no blech needed).
tabouli salad, ditto.
home fries (won't be crisp next day)
Spanish rice, fried rice and the like.

DefyGravity

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 1:31 pm
Green beans

Hashem_Yaazor

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 2:05 pm
Any veggie instead of starch (I do like the green bean idea, especially with almonds or something in it or...)
*stir-fry some veggies
*brocolli (we like to make a mayo/mustard tartar-like sauce to serve with it)
*rice with mushrooms

chocolate moose

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 2:48 pm
we eat so much of that stuff duyring the week, nothing "spcial"?

TzenaRena

Post Mon, Jul 17 2006, 3:07 pm
It's nice to have an additional side dish as variety, oneg shabbos etc., but we never leave out the kugel. There are very deep ruchnius'dik and Kabbalah reasons for eating kugel, and it is a very strong minhag yisrael. The word kugel comes from the Hebrew word K' Igul, like a circle. (more about this later)

In "Halichos uMinhagei Shabbos Kodesh" about the minhagim of the Rebbeim, compiled by R. Michel Zeligson:

The Rebbe RaShab would eat the kugel first, before the meat or chicken. because it is "like the ring before the Nisuiin".