Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
The dress code at your kid's school
1  2  3  Next

Ruchel

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 9:33 am
Sorry for all my questions, but it's my first so I have no experience and wonder what is normal/common!

If you could tell me when (if ever) these come mandatory?
skirts/dresses
tights/knee socks
sleeves to the elbow

Hashem_Yaazor

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 9:42 am
I'm curious why this matters? If you have a choice of schools, you find the one best suited for you. If you don't, you go wherever you can.
The norms in a different community have no bearing on what to expect in yours.

amother

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 9:44 am
In our Bais Yaakov the rules are as follows:

Nursery & Kindergarten: no pants, no bare feet, no sleeveless shirts, no mini skirts. (Skirts above the knee, short sleeves, and ankle socks are ok.)

Pre-1 A - 5th Grade: long sleeves, knee length skirts and knee socks are required.

6th Grade and Up: tights are required

Ruchel

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 9:44 am
I'm curious because if something is done nowhere, it may be too much or not enough.

Ruchel

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 9:45 am
Amother, how old is nursery and how old is pre 1 A?

Mrs Bissli

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 10:02 am
At my kids school, nursery (3-4yr)--anything goes so long as the kids wear T-shirt/sweatshirt with the school logo. reception onwards (4-11yr)--official school uniform. Girls winter ones are long-sleeve blouse, skirt (used to be pinafore dress), jumpers (sweaters), school tie and blazer for 7yr and up. Very Harry Potter, as my American friends and family say...

Mirabelle

Post Tue, Sep 14 2010, 10:11 am
Hi Ruchel,