Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Help, recently completed web design degree

mamaRochel

Post Mon, May 09 2011, 6:13 pm
I studied for four years for a degree in web design and I should have created a portfolio to show people the work I can do or look for work experience but I have no confidence or motivation in doing this. This is because I found programming difficult and I would watch the other students (although much younger than me and teens as opposed to me - married with a number of children who almost never touched a computer until I started studying) doing much better than me. Also, now that I've completed and should know all there is to know I look at websites and don’t know how they were created. I feel that I should! Is there anyone out there who is a web designer who could give me some advice as to what is actually done in the working world so I can put the theory I have learned into practice?

Sherri

Post Mon, May 09 2011, 6:21 pm
What did you learn during the 4 years?
Wasn't a portfolio mandatory?

be good

Post Mon, May 09 2011, 10:44 pm
I would reccomend working as a junior web designer for some time to get comfortable. it doesnt pay so well, but its extremely valuable. once you feel comfortable and confidet in your work, you can move on and find something more respectable and better-paying.

YTYoungMother

Post Mon, May 09 2011, 11:35 pm
I agree with be good.
Also you can try to do a website (start with just one) of something you totally make up - it can be something you enjoy, like a bakery or a hotel website. As you work on it, you will learn so many hands-on tricks. If you want to do something and you don't know how, just google it.
I did that after I took a quick course and it helped me alot. It was actually fun! (Of course a 6-week course doesn't compare to 4 years of school, but I think no matter what education you get, practice makes perfect.)