Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Student loan/employment rant

amother

Post Mon, Jul 16 2012, 10:19 pm
I need to scream somewhere and can't think of a better place to do it....

When I went to college, my parents didn't make a big deal to me about money; they handled signing me up for loans and so on. And while I definitely comprehended that college was expensive and that I'd have to pay it off in the future, I wasn't prepared for what student loan repayment would be like. They signed me up for private loans with a bank that is very inflexible (presumably b/c the interest rate is very low), and when I graduated and got a job, I suddenly started getting the bills - with no word about any of it from my parents, who had paid for a couple of months and then just stopped. I love my parents, and this is probably the only thing they've ever done that I feel any resentment about, leaving me in the dark about my debt and not even talking with me once about how to handle it. So I struggle with being angry at them, and then reminding myself that it was MY education, I wanted it.

I got a master's degree at the cheapest place I got into, and got Stafford loans. now I'm pretty much out of grad school and no job in sight. My degree isn't in basketweaving, it's in a practical skill in an actual field that happens to be bad in terms of the job market now (mostly because of the economic climate). It also happens to be something that I excel at, and that I love doing. I have no regrets about choosing this field, but I hate that to anyone but me personally it looks like I made such a bad decision, going into something that's so competitive right now. I'm sick of explaining to people that yeah, you do need a master's to do this job properly.