Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Whose job- tznius police
1  2  Next

amother

Post Tue, May 21 2013, 1:17 pm
I am a seventh grade teacher, and I have students coming to school with skirts too close to the knee according the school standards. whose responsibility is it to "reprimand" them.

to tell you the honest truth- as a teacher I literally don't see the infractions- a student comes to school and I look at her a whole, not scrutitinizing her up and down to make sure she is dressed appropriately.

The princepal always has complaints against me as to why I am not "reprimanding" the girls and how come they dress teh way they do.

my thoughts are- if you are teh principal and you see it, say something- especially if it is going to create negatice feelings by the student, because my job is to develope a good relationship with them etc

whose job is it?

naturalmom5

Post Tue, May 21 2013, 1:21 pm
If the parents and school are fostering a love of Yiddishkeit and pride in being a bas yisroel , dressing appropriately will come naturally like breathing .
But I'm guessing your principle doesn't want to hear that

happybeingamom

Post Tue, May 21 2013, 1:27 pm
Since these girls are 7th graders you should be speaking to their mothers not to the girls. The girls do not buy their own clothing, they most likely don't take care of their clothing, check if it is the proper length etc. This is a parents responsibility.

Fighting with your students about something that is not in their control is a big mistake on many levels.

What I would do with the class. Talk to them about their growth spurt (a usual occurrence with 12-13 year old girls) and that they should check if their clothing still fit.

Simple1

Post Tue, May 21 2013, 1:33 pm
happybeingamom wrote: