Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Going rate for administrative assistant in Baltimore

amother

Post Mon, Dec 29 2014, 10:41 am
Hi all - I have 20 years of experience as an admin assistant, starting in NY and now in Baltimore. I am fully proficient in all the Microsoft programs, easily learn new softwares. I have excellent verbal/written skills and am comfortable with all customer service functions. I don't say any of this to toot my horn, just to say that after many years, I am skilled at what I do.

I suppose I have always sold myself short financially. I prefer to work at frum, non profits. But now I'm needing money, and I am still making $16/hr!. Though at my current job I also get health benefits, tuition reimbursement, life insurance, etc.

I've gone on interviews recently where I've been offered the job but told they can't match what I am making.

Does anyone know where/how to get paid a suitable salary in Baltimore? 20 years of experience must be worth more than $16/hour, shouldn't it?

Thanks for any ideas/insights!

Posting anonymously in case my current employer is on this site! Thanks.

finallyamommy

Post Mon, Dec 29 2014, 11:51 am
I don't know anything about the job market in America, but I do know that tuition reimbursement is darn near priceless from what I've heard. If you get a job somewhere else with a higher salary but have to pay full tuition, are you still going to come home with more money at the end of the day?

Leahh

Post Mon, Dec 29 2014, 1:59 pm
It seems like you're making pennies because you're only making $16/hr. BUT look at the benefits you get with the job!!!!
If you were making $50/hr and had to pay tuition, life and health insurance you would likely come out with less than $16/hr.