Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Thinking about a M.S degree- advice please

amother
cornflower

Post Wed, Jun 03 2015, 11:12 am
I have been teaching for 5 years now, and this past year I switched to a new school, where it was a complete disaster. Top to bottom, a completely dysfunctional place.
I feel like now, since I am not going back there, I feel like I should get a masters now.

I have been toying with the idea of going back for my masters for about 2 years now and I cannot make a decision about it.

I have been looking into Touro's M.S Early Childhood Education & Special Education. I have a bunch of friends who did this program, all over 5-6 years ago, who currently work as SIET or as Gen. Ed teachers. But I don't know anyone who has done it completely online, like I have been looking into.

here are my concerns:
its close to $40,000, so I would obviously need financial loans, which scares me, because my dh has almost quadruple that in loans from his schooling
-am I kidding myself that I can do online schooling? will I be able to do the work, and still take care of my family?
-Do I really need a masters degree? Should I just continue teaching without it?
-even at its quickest, it takes me 1.5 years, (which lets be realistic, it will take longer) I have no guarantee I will get a good paying job to pay back those loans.

I am so lost. and confused about this.
any advice is appreciated.

Raisin

Post Wed, Jun 03 2015, 11:36 am
if you are doing it all online anyway, why restrict yourselves to touro? Maybe there are cheaper options?

are you planning on working and studying at the same time?

amother
cornflower

Post Wed, Jun 03 2015, 11:43 am
thanks for the reply

to be honest, the only reason why I chose Touro, is because other people did it, its well known, and I know people have gotten jobs with a Touro degree (as opposed to idk, University of Kentucky, (I made that up)