Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
How Do You Cope? What do You MIss?

amother
Papaya

Post Tue, Mar 07 2017, 12:39 pm
I realized from a recent thread that there are a lot of amothers who, like me, are really REALLY struggling financially and are trying to not show it. What ways have you come up with to deal with this? And what item that have you had to cut out do you miss the most?

amother
Saddlebrown

Post Tue, Mar 07 2017, 12:51 pm
Really miss not splurging on extras like a salad for lunch, new book from judaic store etc

HashemMelekh

Post Tue, Mar 07 2017, 1:28 pm
Personally, I am a student, and while I'm not broke, I am inevitaby mindful of our budget. I cook all food at home and buy groceries that are on sale. Most of the food I eat is unprocessed vegan food, like vegetables, legumes, and whole grains, because they're considerably cheaper than kosher meat. Moreover, shopping for other things--like clothes-- is at a minimum and I really only spend money on necessities. I enjoy free activities, like taking a walk in the park with my DH and painting--a hobby of mine, and to be honest, I don't miss anything.

amother
Cerulean

Post Tue, Mar 07 2017, 1:30 pm
I miss not buying salad too, and magazines/newspaper. I miss not buying flowers for Shabbos. I miss buying fresh panties. I miss buying lots of fresh fruits (fruit prices have skyrocketed imo). I miss buying hot cocoa at the bakery/grocery.

I'm looking for ideas on how to de-stress when there's no money to buy the things that make me smile.

Insomniac

Post Tue, Mar 07 2017, 1:39 pm
Sigh.

What do I miss the most? The freedom. Especially during this time of year.

The freedom of not calculating if there will be the exact same thing in another store that is cheaper...

The freedom of letting my kids be whatever they want to be, and giving out whatever they want to give out.