Home

Rice dream Pesach

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays


View latest: 24h 48h 72h


Einikel




 
 
 
 

Post  Mon, Mar 30 2020, 10:44 pm
I know it’s kitniyos does anyone know if I can give it to my baby or does it have chometzdig ingredients?
Back to top

powerofplay




 
 
 
 

Post  Mon, Mar 30 2020, 10:52 pm
Some rice milks specify gluten free which would probably mean no chometz.
Back to top

tf




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 4:42 am
Rice dream has a tiny amount of barley, which is chomets. It doesn't have to be listed in the ingredients because it is an insignificant amount. It says on the side of the box in tiny words
Back to top

eli7




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 5:27 am
There are lots of rice milks certified for Pesach these days if you have a way to shop or order. That way you don't have to worry about any of the ingredients.
Back to top

FranticFrummie




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 8:04 am
How old is your baby? Do you know if there is a nut allergy?

Fortified almond milk has a lot more protein than rice milk.
Back to top

shmosmom




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 8:25 am
I had called the OU about it a year or two ago and they told me if it's all my kid (not yet 2 year old at that time) drinks then it's O.K. to use the original one. My family Rav told us to wash her bottles in either the bathroom or a separate sink we wouldn't then use for pesach dishes. My kid is older now, I didn't ask again but now wondering if I should.
Back to top

teachkids




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 8:30 am
Ou booklet says shelf table almond breeze original, rice dream classic original and soy dream original enriched are all kitniyos and ok for those who are ill or infants.
Back to top

zaq




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 10:23 am
powerofplay wrote:
Some rice milks specify gluten free which would probably mean no chometz.


According to the (U), gluten free does not mean chametz-free. Oats, which are fundamentally gluten-free, are among chameshet haminim and subject to becoming chamtetz. The reason why celiacs need oats that are certified gluten-free is that oats are often grown near or processed on the same equipment as grains containing gluten. The traces of gluten that may find their way into ordinary oats are enough to be a problem for celiacs, but they do not originate from the oats themselves.
Back to top

pause




 
 
 
 

Post  Tue, Mar 31 2020, 11:04 am
I asked years ago and was told I could give it to my allergic kid but wash the keilim in a different sink. Now the kid is older so we just do without.
Back to top
Recent Topics

Page 1 of 1 View latest: 24h 48h 72h


Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum -> Yom Tov / Holidays

Related Topics Replies Last Post
Had a dream about the Rebbe, I’m not lubavitch
by amother
13 Today at 2:25 am View last post
Design your dream backyard for kids and adults to enjoy!
by amother
20 Yesterday at 10:55 pm View last post
Brisket recipe from Binah magazine pesach 0 Sun, May 24 2020, 10:51 pm View last post
Half Hour Challah recipe in Ami - from before Pesach 6 Wed, May 20 2020, 8:57 am View last post
Announcement: Please Stay Home for Pesach & Quarantine Instructions
by Yael
25 Fri, May 15 2020, 8:37 am View last post

Jump to: