Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
I’m your child’s therapist and deserve some recognition
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  Next

amother
OP

Post Sun, Dec 20 2020, 5:24 am
I’m a speech therapist working in two different schools. I work hard. I devote myself to the kids and put my heart and soul into the sessions. I work alongside the parents and strive for progress.
Chanuka came and went. Out of 22 students, 3 mothers sent me envelopes with tip and beautiful notes.
Now; I DONT NEED anyone’s tips. I b”h make a decent living and am fine. But how about some appreciation? Some encouragement? Ironically, those few mothers who did send me the envelopes are the sweetest, uncomplicated and appreciative ones. They always work along and are eager to do what’s expected to help speed up the therapy process.
The mothers with the endless demands and expectations who call me quite often to request or expect...didn’t even acknowledge my existence...
for my own children’s teachers and rebbeim, I sat down and penned beautiful letters of appreciation to send along with their tips. After all I find it’s the appreciation and the note that matters! Now I know most people argue that therapists make enough money they shouldn’t be getting tips. I’m fine with that. But are we not deserving of some appreciation? We work hard! We customize sessions for ur children! Do you care to acknowledge our existence?
Thanks for the opportunity to express my feelings 😊😊

amother
Cerise

Post Sun, Dec 20 2020, 5:46 am
Please just stop.

You don't deserve recognition.

People pay you to do a job. You need to feel good about your job from yourself not because some mother wrote you a note ot not.

Stop depending on other people to make you feel worthwhile and good.