Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Manners & Etiquette
Bridal Shower

amother
OP

Post Sun, May 30 2021, 9:38 am
I was invited to a bridal shower but have never been to one before.
What the proper etiquette with bringing gifts?
I have no experience or practical knowledge in this area.

Thanks in advance!

Fabulous

Post Sun, May 30 2021, 9:40 am
Ask the person who is arranging it. Some prefer you chip in to a big gift, some prefer you buy something from the registry, some prefer a gag gift or a real
Gift. It’s really what was pre arranged.

watergirl

Post Sun, May 30 2021, 9:53 am
The purpose of a bridal shower is a literally to shower the bride with gifts. Generally, those who have bridal showers also have guest registries. That information is typically written on the invitation, but if it is not, you should ask the hostess where the couple is registered. A bridal shower gift does not exempt you from a wedding gift either, if you attend the wedding. Also, wedding etiquette in terms of bridal showers means that if you are invited to the shower, you will also be invited to the wedding. Just something to keep in mind if you choose to attend the shower.

Amarante

Post Sun, May 30 2021, 10:09 am
The short answer is that you bring the gift to the shower. In my experience opening the gifts is part of the "entertainment". Depending on what kind of shower it is, the wrapping will be used to make a giant hat for the bride which she will wear and be photographed in. There are also some other typical shower games but making something from the wrapping paper seems to be pretty universal. The only time this didn't occur was when the shower was a relatively small brunch type of affair at a very fancy venue.