Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Imperforate hymen
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 04 2022, 12:12 am
My 10.5 year old was just diagnosed with an imperforate hymen. She's so scared of surgery and so embarrassed of thiswhole thing. Anyone here have experience who can guide me as to how to help her.

amother
OP

Post Tue, Jan 04 2022, 9:38 am
Anyone? Please?

amother
Saddlebrown

Post Tue, Jan 04 2022, 9:42 am
I saw this post last night. I don't have any advice or experience with this.

It may be worth discussing with a therapist. Or ask the dr what they recommend or if they have any resources etc.

amother
Stoneblue

Post Tue, Jan 04 2022, 9:44 am
I have no experience with the surgery, but I was born with this. It was treated when I as very young with hormonal creams. I don't think that's advised nowadays and I blame some of my hormonal imbalances on that.

I don't think it's a big deal surgery. It sounds pretty simple. But I'm not talking from experience. Hatzlocha!

advocate

Post Tue, Jan 04 2022, 10:04 am
I see this was a topic a couple years ago, and that a pediatric gynecologist was mentioned.

Can you reframe/minimize the embarrassment - it's just like if a person had appendicitis...Many Imas on here have talked about how to answer (invasive) questions about medical conditions. "Shprinta will be a out of school for a few days because she is having minor surgery to...."

And/or this surgery not only is important for her life, but paves the way to the future when she may/will want to be a mother.

From what I glean, it's very good news that this was discovered and addressed relatively early in life.

She should have an easy recovery, blossoming self-confidence, a growing connection to Hashem, and a happy, fruitful life!

amother
Yarrow

Post Tue, Jan 04 2022, 10:11 am
She's embarrassed because she's 10.