Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Health-minded mothers, please don’t deprive your kids!
1  2  3  4  Next

amother
OP

Post Thu, Nov 03 2022, 6:02 pm
I am a preschool teacher. I once had a student whose parents were very into healthy food, to an extreme. The poor girl was totally deprived! From what we gathered, she ate only whole meal bread, bran flakes and rice cakes at home. So when it came to snack time, and we provide the snacks, she would stuff her face with cookies and ask for more when her mouth would still be full. If we ever made cheerio necklaces, she would nibble when we didn’t see. Shabbos party was paradise! We made sure to let her have as much candy as she wanted because she evidently didn’t get any at home. Sometimes when she thought we weren’t looking she would take some food one of us left lying around or she would eat someone’s leftover snack. Many years have passed since this child left my classroom but I always wonder if it’s fair to deprive a child to such a level, and if one would be embarrassed by the child’s behavior in order to get the sweet stuff they crave.

amother
Salmon

Post Thu, Nov 03 2022, 6:11 pm
I teach an older kid from a healthy food only house. The kid begs snacks from all her friends and eats junk all day because there's no lunch food at home she wants to eat, so she eats chips and cookies for lunch every day- she'd be better off if the parents let her bring pasta or a regular sandwich!

amother
Begonia

Post Thu, Nov 03 2022, 6:12 pm