Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
4 year old dc diagnosed with hf autism and ADHD. Now what?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Feb 28 2023, 3:00 pm
I'm looking for guidance on how to deal with this. I expected the ADHD for a while but not the autism. Can anyone share their journey with me and what they've learned? Which methods did you find most helpful?

amother
Black

Post Tue, Feb 28 2023, 3:41 pm
Unfortunately, I have no experience to share, but as a mom of a 4 year old whose teacher recommended I get my son tested, I'm curious what your child is like if you're up for sharing.

From what I understand, there are lots of therapies out there that are very helpful, and the earlier they are started, the more successful they can be.

May Hashem help guide you and bless you with lots of nachas from your sweet child.

amother
Ruby

Post Tue, Feb 28 2023, 4:19 pm
Join our support group for moms of hfasd by emailing hfautismformoms@gmail.com. There are so many amazing women on there and so much helpful advice!

amother
OP

Post Tue, Feb 28 2023, 6:59 pm
amother Black wrote:
Unfortunately, I have no experience to share, but as a mom of a 4 year old whose teacher recommended I get my son tested, I'm curious what your child is like if you're up for sharing.

From what I understand, there are lots of therapies out there that are very helpful, and the earlier they are started, the more successful they can be.

May Hashem help guide you and bless you with lots of nachas from your sweet child.

There's several signs but DC doesn't fulfill all criteria. Here's what the psychologist told me was autism:
- has difficulty making friends, prefers to play by themself
- problem making eye contact and casual conversation
- irrational fears and anxiety
- compulsive behavior
- problems listening, just wants to follow their own rules