Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Soup
Celery knob soup

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 1:03 pm
I've never used a celery knob before. I decided to be adventurous and try it, but now I'm scared. Of course it looks a little scary, but the problem is, it smells interesting, also.
Does it taste okay?

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 1:12 pm
Please, anyone?

naomi2

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 1:54 pm
Ive never made soup from celery knob but I've used it in chicken soup and I know the flavor. It will be a very strong celery flavor. I would add cauliflower to the soup to temper the flavor

yachnabobba

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 2:17 pm
I love knob celery but I would not do more than a fifty fifty blend with potatoes if making a soup

scruffy

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 2:27 pm
I agree with the posters above but it can make a delicious soup. I would add a head of roasted garlic in addition to the potatoes or cauliflower

Peonie

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 5:48 pm
Celery knob soup is one of my favorites from childhood, it's definitely an intense flavor (which is why it should be combined with something milder like other posters suggested) but it's delicious! Unfortunately no recipe was passed down to me, but I think I remember it had potatoes, parsnips and maybe onions?

Rubber Ducky

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 5:53 pm
I put it in chicken soup, along with carrots, parsnips, celery, and (if I can find it) parsley root. But I have never made celeriac soup with the celeriac as the main ingredient.

Sunny Days

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 6:30 pm
Can you please share the recipe? I’d love to try it

yamz

Post Thu, Nov 09 2023, 6:59 pm
You can definitely make celeriac soup. I've made it a few times. I would probably make it more often if it wasn't such a hassle to peel.

Rough recipe:
- Peeled and cubed celery root. (It oxidizes like apples and potatoes do, so keep it in a bowl of water with a small splash of lemon juice.)