Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Confidentiality when tipped with a check
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Mon, Jan 01 2024, 8:56 pm
I work as a speech therapist in a school and was tiped by 2 students with a check. I'm always extremely careful with confidentiality.

Is it ok to have my husband deposit the checks (it has their last namse on it )? Should I rather deposit it (less likely he will see it in that case, but there's still the possibility he needs to check the bank statements for something. (This has come up in past already and I've always just deposited it myself....but now my husband is more involved in finances that he used to be, and sometimes looks things up and etc)

Should I assume the parents are ok with it - since they chose to give a check and they know I'm married ?
Do I need to ask the parents or am I being to extreme (this is speech therapy not counseling)?

amother
Stone

Post Mon, Jan 01 2024, 8:57 pm
I would assume that the parents dont think that your husband doesn't know who your clients are

amother
Pumpkin

Post Mon, Jan 01 2024, 8:57 pm
I dont consider a husband breaching confidentiality.
my husband \knows lots of confidential information from my place where I work.

amother
Turquoise

Post Mon, Jan 01 2024, 8:59 pm
Download the banks app and deposit yourself

amother
Ruby

Post Mon, Jan 01 2024, 9:01 pm
I think you should deposit it yourself and that's fine.

amother
Daisy

Post Mon, Jan 01 2024, 9:02 pm
I have a business account for this reason, and only I have access to it. I assume other therapists do the same. In your case you can just let your dh know that you're depositing checks from clients and he should not check the images to protect their confidentiality. I would not have him deposit the checks.

BrooklynBee