Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection
Potato kugel HELP
  1  2  3  11  12  13  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Feb 14 2024, 9:37 pm
I need help!
I am a fantastic cook and an accomplished baker. I bake challahs and countless of sourdough breads weekly. Plus intricate cakes and desserts. I cook gourmet meals daily.

BUT making potato kugel will be the end of me. I can not make a good potato kugel if my life depended on it.
It’s either gummy or runny or just green and gross.
If I do think I finally got it I find oil everywhere (luckily I always bake it on top of a large sheet pan)
I never know when it’s done and when it’s overdone.
Plus I find the work messy and time consuming and just not worth it.

I spoke to many chassidish women (don’t jump at me, they brand themselves as potato kugel gurus ) and they all have tricks and “the best recipe” but it always fails!!

Can someone please teach me every single thing there is to know about potato kugel?
Unfortunately for me, my husband and son ask for kugel weekly. I try offering perfectly cooked and seared steak instead, but they want (insert curse word) potato kugel!!

Thank you

Sebastian

Post Wed, Feb 14 2024, 9:43 pm
The tricks seem to be type of potati and how you grate it. You can search for the potato kugel ladys recipe on here

Jewishmom8

Post Wed, Feb 14 2024, 9:53 pm
I actually find that the speed that I make it makes a big difference.
you cant let it sit on the counter very long at all.
a large onion
8ish large potatoes
4 eggs
black pepper
1 tsp salt
1 half cup oil
bake it an hour and a half on 350

amother
Carnation

Post Wed, Feb 14 2024, 10:46 pm
I don't have a "best" recipe, but I have a nice average potato kugel recipe that comes out either okay or good every week.

1) In large mixing bowl, put 6-8 eggs, 1 tsp+ salt, a glug or two of oil, and black pepper to taste (that just means I don't measure it). Mix it a bit.