Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children
Really struggling with Mommying

rachel0615

Post Mon, Mar 18 2024, 9:03 am
I BH am blessed with 2 children, a 5.5 year old girl and an almost 2 year old boy. Lately my daughter has been so challenging. Any time I say no to something, even when I explain my reasoning, results in a huge reaction from her. Ie, her saying she will never talk to me again, crying and screaming, saying she wants me out of her family, etc. For example, I told her I did not have time to cut up an orange for her this morning and she said she will never talk to me in a million years. When I ignored and did not react, she went to my husband repeating what she said and he reprimanded her. I am a pre1A teacher and just so at a loss! I know this age, I know they are testing boundaries and benefit from firm structure but also being brought into the thought process behind rules and decisions. I try to validate the feeling she is communicating, praise her when she is making a good choice. She internalizes it because when she does do something good, she will say, "see Mommy, I am turning my day around!" but then the next time I say no, she freaks out again. I know I am her safe place, and she is testing testing but it is EXHAUSTING and I feel like it is beyond the norm.

My son has until this point been such a happy go lucky little boy. Lately, he has been following me around the house crying and screaming. I try to give him the language to communicate what he wants, show him different options ie show him his bottle and say do you want baba and then take out a bar and say or a snack to eat? Often he will take a drink or bite and then just continue screaming and crying.

I just feel like crying. I don't know how to meet their needs. I want my house to have happy kids and am just at a complete loss!

amother
cornflower

Post Mon, Mar 18 2024, 9:36 am