Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
Strawberries - anyone know?
1  2  Next

girl genes

Post Tue, Feb 24 2009, 12:57 am

Hi, I think about 6 months ago I saw an email in Israel that all strawberries are now a problem (previously you could soak in soapy water, cut of the top and check) and now there is a new bug in Israel and the States - you can only use peeled or mushed/cooked strawbs.

Is anyone a bug checking expert who know.
BTW - they sell Strawbs in fruit stores with a badatz hechsher in Israel.

Thanks

Marion

Post Tue, Feb 24 2009, 1:20 am
No comment. Honestly, IMO, use some common sense. Wash your fruit (and veggies), soak 'em, and check 'em. Then enjoy. Obviously, however, I'm not a halachic expert in the matter.

Mrs.K

Post Tue, Feb 24 2009, 1:31 am
I've heard different things from different people. Someone said their Rav said they cannot touch them under any circumstances. My Rav said soak for 10 minutes and check. You just has to ask your Rabbi his opinion. Someone else's opinion won't help you.

shalhevet

Post Tue, Feb 24 2009, 1:46 am
The Eida and/or Rav Vaya (don't remember) published this year that nothing has changed since last year. You have to cut off the tops, soak in soapy water, rinse and THEN peel and/or mush. Tell me, what's left of them? Though I may buy for Pesach, since I used to make strawberry ice-cream from puréed - and you can use them after puréeing.

I miss strawberries. Sad

The fact you can buy them in a store with a good hechsher just means there is some way to use them (puréed or peeled).

alisa

Post Tue, Feb 24 2009, 1:52 am
ok, so we called up vaad hakashrus and this it wat they said :
soak the starwberies for 3 min in soapy water. Move the strawberies around so that the soap gets everywhere. Repeat another 2 times.
Then....
Peel and eat
or
Don't peal, but mush and eat blended