Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Simcha Section
Bris-Planning and issues-HELP!!
1  2  Next

amother

Post Mon, May 16 2011, 5:14 pm
I need help and am relying on all of you sisters out there..
Heres the story. My daughter is expecting and we know its a boy. so, heres the thing. First, since she is coming to us after the birth, we offered to pay for the bris, so if my mechutan wants his own Mohel, do we have to agree to that(it will be more expensive b/c the mohel has to come to Monsey.) Is is terrible to ask my mechutan to pay for that if that is what he wants? Also, is it a given that we pay for everything re: the sholom zochor, because we have the baby over here? (We are already covering it, I just wanted to know.)
Anyone have this story and can advise???
Secondly, can someone give me info on the best place to get platters, etc, for the bris(I am new to Monsey and unfamiliar with the stores, etc, and the prices)? Also, info on everything else involved (I.e., bris outfit, etc.) This is the first bris we are making (for my boys, four of them, kh, my parents/inlaws did it) so I know nothing about what is 'done' or even what I need to do...PLEASE HELP!!!

mummiedearest

Post Mon, May 16 2011, 7:44 pm
firstly, bshaah tovah.

second, in terms of the mohel-- you can't really book them in advance. you don't know exactly when the baby will be born, whether he'll be able to have the bris on time, etc. so it often boils down to who can come and be mohel. if your mechutanim are adamant about the mohel, ask them to either pay in full or pay the difference. that should be ok. explain the expense, if necessary.