Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Should I even bother with this interview?

amother

Post Wed, Jun 12 2013, 11:44 am
I am looking for a job in a high school for next year but haven't gotten any offers, so I expanded my search to include junior high even though I haven't had any experience with that age group since doing 1 semester of field work in college. I answered a job posting looking for a middle school teacher in my subject and got called in for an interview/model lesson. I assumed, based on the posting, that it would be for 7th or 8th grade. Well, they want me to teach a 5th grade class tomorrow. I have ZERO experience with 5th grade. I have never taught a class younger than 7th, and like I said, that was several years ago. I know ZIPPO about 5th grade- I don't know what they're up to developmentally, what they are supposed to be able to do in my subject etc. I don't think I've spoken to a 5th grader since I was a 5th grader! Should I even bother with this? Should I call the school and ask what, exactly, is the position they're looking to fill, and if indeed it's 5th grade, just say sorry, I don't think it's shayach? The thing is, I'm getting quite desperate. If I don't find something soon, I'm going to be out of work for at least a year. And if I couldn't manage to find a job while employed, how the heck am I going to find one with a year gap?

busydev

Post Wed, Jun 12 2013, 11:51 am
you can do it and it will be fine.

I worked for 2 years as a permanent substitute in a school and would teach 1st graders one day and 7th graders the next. (this was straight out of sem-so no experience at all) I know people that have taught grade x and then been transferred to another grade they never touched and been fine.

what subject do you teach?