Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Assistant teacher salary
1  2  Next

amother
Natural

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 7:06 pm
What is the average salary for a full time(8-3:30) teaching assistant. I have an advanced degree in elementary ed and have taught in public school. Took off to raise the kids, don't want all the grunge work of teaching, but want the fun stuff- like actually teaching and working with kids. I found an ad for an assistant teacher- which looks great, but the salary was pretty much minimum wage( between $20000- $23000) for the year. Which is what I got paid 25 years ago when I first started teaching in public school! Is that really the normal range??? I spoke with the administrator and he asked me what I was looking for in pay... I have no clue- a million dollars??? Any thoughts...

Simple1

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 7:13 pm
I would assume the assistant gets paid less than the main teacher. It's often an entry level job, no experience necessary.

amother
Mistyrose

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 7:36 pm
In Boro Park they make $1200-1700 no kidding with bus duty.okay?! Okay?!

amother
Natural

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 7:43 pm
amother wrote:
In Boro Park they make $1200-1700 no kidding with bus duty.okay?! Okay?!
wow, I would think NYC would get paid more.

amother
Natural

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 7:45 pm
Simple1 wrote:
I would assume the assistant gets paid less than the main teacher. It's often an entry level job, no experience necessary.
[quote]. True, guess I have been out of touch on what salaries are in education.

amother
Apricot

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 8:00 pm
My Manhattan preschool also pays assistants 12-17k

bsy

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 8:24 pm
I got 15K about 5 years ago in a special education preschool. It was standard.

teachkids

Post Thu, Apr 26 2018, 9:40 pm