Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Chinuch, Education & Schooling
How to approach tiktok and other social media
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Jun 22 2022, 2:07 pm
I am a high school teacher and now my daughter is entering high school.
Over the past couple of days I immersed myself in all the social media accounts I could- tiktok, Instagram etc and wanted to expose myself to the life that teens are living nowadays

Firstly, for all those moms that allow their children to spend time on tiktok- my question is why?
After spending 2 hrs a day on tiktok for three days- I don’t think one can emerge as a healthy sane adult if they do that
The whole dancing is a fairy tale universe. These girls spend hours making these dances , dreaming they look as cool and casual and having a grand time like everyone else .

The sound tracks the girls are using ! Pure filth and trash- talking about relations any every second word is a curse .

The dances are all s-xual in nature- focusing on shaking your booty snd pushing forward your chest!

There is so much hate and judgement on tiktok I don’t know how any teen can withstand it

I am trying to look back at my teenage years, we all tested the limits and figured out our normal and our identity. Those that tested it with self sabatoging methods that could cause serious spiritual or physical harm, never really found a balanced normal

Now for the question
This is the reality, I am scared for future generations!! I think tiktok is detrimental . What’s the norm nowadays of allowing a child to figure themselves out and eventually finding a healthy normal. Constant exposure to tiktok is not like anything we did when we were teens!!! I need to strengthen my child to a point that they see the insanity of this as opposed to calling me an my values old fashioned.

Of course all chinuch boils down to relationships… wondering what approaches some of you have taken