Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Workmate not responsible
1  2  3  Next

amother
OP

Post Wed, Aug 02 2023, 1:46 pm
im a playgroup teacher for 1 year olds. Im fed up from my assistant for a few reasons:
she just sits on a chair and lets me do bulk work
I need to tell her 3 times the same thing until she follows thru
she tells me what to do and she sits on a chair
now im fuming cuz she just texted me that shes coming in tomorrow at 12pm cuz she needs to watch her moms cleaning lady... ftr shes a high school age kid...

amother
OP

Post Wed, Aug 02 2023, 1:47 pm
and she comes half hr late every day

amother
Quince

Honestly sounds very typical for a high school age kid. Maturity and responsibility comes with time and experience.
Not to say that you shouldn't correct her, just keep things in perspective

amother
Maple

So why do you employ her? Get someone else

amother
Quince

Post Wed, Aug 02 2023, 1:49 pm
I'm assuming you've already tried setting expectations and correcting her, otherwise you wouldn't be posting here... Right?

amother
Mint

Post Wed, Aug 02 2023, 1:56 pm
Sit down with her and tell her what a pleasant personality she has and other praise. Then write up a schedule with very very specific instructions. Some kids are clueless and need alot of guidance.

amother
OP

Post Wed, Aug 02 2023, 2:18 pm
amother Quince wrote:
I'm assuming you've already tried setting expectations and correcting her, otherwise you wouldn't be posting here... Right?

I told her daily routine a few times but she does whatever she feels like it. for ex: I tell her to please help me feed kids lunch so she decides that she needs to organize closet then.. im talking to the wall... my boss knows abt it-she told me that shes really learning disabled. im mad at my boss for hiring again this summer

amother
OP

Post Wed, Aug 02 2023, 2:21 pm