Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Tichels in the workplace?

HT217

Post Tue, May 20 2014, 12:52 pm
I work in health care and I used to wear my sheitel only to work. The rest of the time I only wear tichels. I find them more attractive, more comfortable, and I guess I never really got used to the idea of wearing fake hair. I have been between jobs a few months and only wearing tichels and I love it! I tie them very prettily, adorn them with headbands and think they look so regal!

I'm starting a new job soon. Do y'all think that it looks unprofessional to wear tichels in a clinic/hospital environment? It's a completely non-religious area. My everyday attire would be professional wear on clinic days and scrubs on operating days. My colleagues are all not Jewish, except for one not religious Jew who I already think is wary of having an orthodox Jew on the team. Does wearing a sheitel make me more approachable to the vast majority of my patients who might not know what to make of a tichel? I'm really tempted to give up the sheitel! What do you think?

manhattanmom

Post Tue, May 20 2014, 12:57 pm
I wear a tichel to work almost all of the time. It's just so much more comfortable for me. I wear a shaitel once in a while--when I know I'll be in a lot of meetings, or a PR thing is happening but for most of the time, as long as I'm wearing a scrubs top, a tichel just makes more sense.
And no, I don't work in healthcare--I teach high needs preschool.

ectomorph

Post Tue, May 20 2014, 12:59 pm
I would wear a sheitel the first day just to start off on a neutral impression. Then phase in the tichels over the first few months of working there.

amother

Post Tue, May 20 2014, 1:00 pm