Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Which grades were most affected by covid?
1  2  Next

amother
OP

Post Tue, Aug 29 2023, 7:13 am
I'm just curious whether you've seen a trend as to which grades are significantly different than usual, and whether it "makes sense" based on where they were when COVID lockdown and "the quarantine year" happened.

I have three specific grades in mind, one very young, one older, and one very old, but I'm going to wait to post them until other people weigh in.

I realize that there were some schools, particularly in the tristate area, that didn't have such a different experience that year. But many of us (in Israel, other countries, OOT US, MO tristate) did, and I'm wondering how that impacted specific grades.

amother
Outerspace

Post Tue, Aug 29 2023, 7:22 am
I am a teacher so I have opinions based on classes I taught post covid, and from other staff Members in my school

Third grade in covid did perfectly fine
Second grade in covid was okay
Kids who missed first grade or K were missing more key elements

Re. High School, socially and emotionally, the girls who were in tenth grade during covid did not mature and gel the way other grades did.
They lost tenth grade to settle down and were left with lies of pettiness and immaturity for the rest of high school.

amother
Crimson

Post Tue, Aug 29 2023, 7:27 am
The ones that were in K and 1st grade (the reading grades) are not up to par to previous yrs. Just not the same. I thought it was just my kid but the teacher said they are all doing the same.
I don’t have older.

amother
Burntblack

Post Tue, Aug 29 2023, 7:35 am
My son was in pre1a during covid. His 3rd grade rebbi said last year, he sees a big difference in the kriah of this class compared to other classes he taught.

amother
Lawngreen

Post Tue, Aug 29 2023, 7:38 am