Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Fashion and Beauty
Skincare Routine help

Tindle

Post Sun, Sep 10 2023, 3:54 pm
Hi,
I just started working on figuring out a skincare routine for myself.

I'm really new to all of this, so wanted to get advice from those that might know much more about this stuff.

For night - Can I put on retinol eye cream and then put on a facial serum after it? I recently bought Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair serum. Can I combine the two?

Thanks!

Also, once I'm asking, when I look online, it seems like the ANR serum is supposed to be amazing and really make a difference. I've been using it for a few weeks already and I don't really see a difference. Could I be doing something wrong?

synthy

Post Sun, Sep 10 2023, 5:34 pm
Basic routine is to cleanse skin (ideally double cleanse), serums (which type you’ll want depends on your skin type and concerns), then moisturizer and eye cream.

So you’ll first need to put on the serum, wait 5-10 minutes for it to sink in to the skin, the put the heavier creams.

Tindle

Post Sun, Sep 10 2023, 5:41 pm
Thank you for responding!

When you say put on the heavier creams after the serum, are you referring to the retinol eye cream? Becsuse the package says "cream" but it doesn't seem like it's heavy or thick - it's ROC brand if that means anything - and I haven't opened the tube yet, but it doesn't seem heavy or creamy at all.

Sorry I'm asking so many questions, I just want to understand - I thought moisturizer goes on after everything else, won't the eye cream not be able to penetrate (thus being less effective) if it's put on on top of moisturizer?

amother
Orchid

Post Sun, Sep 10 2023, 6:38 pm
If you apply moistirizer before retinol, it acts as a barrier and is less affective. If you apply retinol before anything else it will work better.