Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
I'm not good at running an efficient home

amother
OP

Post Mon, Dec 18 2023, 4:33 pm
Sometimes I feel like I am the only one who has trouble running an organized and efficient home and struggles with my daily schedule and keeping the house running smoothly.

Some background:

I have a few little kids BH including a baby and work about 20 hours a week. This is my first year not working full time (not by choice - it's a long story but I will most likely need to increase my hours again in the near future)

I was soooo excited about working part time and finally not running around like a crazy person with hungry, tired kids straight from school and no time to go to appointments, let alone make dinner or just play with my kids!

I am feeling so down and disappointed about how my year is going in terms of productivity. While I am thrilled to finally not have to send a baby out a full day and I appreciate that aspect a lot, I feel like now I have more time why am I just as harried as I used to be and struggling with basic everyday things like fitting in appointments and normal balanced dinners or even making myself a proper lunch. Making shabbos fills me with dread every week (the planning, shopping and cooking!).

Yes my baby is not so easy and always wants to be held, yes I have another child now so more things to fit in, yes I am still working majority of the time my children are out of the house but still...is it normal to struggle so much with the basics like grocery shopping, cooking, appointments, cleaning?